THE COASTERS - Extended Play . . .



BC: 827565060962



SleeveFor Print>





1. Searchin'
2. Young Blood
3. Yakety Yak
4. Charlie Brown
5. The Shadow Knows
6. Sorry But I’m Gonna Have To Pass
7. Idol With The Golden Head
8. Brazil
9. Gee, Golly
10. Zing ! Went The Strings Of My Heart
11. Sweet Georgia Brown
12. Poison Ivy
13. I’m A Hog For You
14. That Is Rock And Roll
15. Along Came Jones
16. Besame Mucho Pt.1
17. What About Us
18. Run, Red, Run
19. Dance
20. Three Cool Cats
21. Lola
22. Wake Me, Shake Me
23. Stewball
24. Little Egypt
25. (Ain’t That) Just Like Me
26. (When She Wants Good Lovin’) My Baby Comes To Me

This is a fine collection from An American rhythm and blues / rock and roll vocal group who had a string of hits in the late 1950, they got started in October 1955. The original members of The Coasters were Carl Gardner, Billy Guy, Bobby Nunn and Leon Hughes. In 1957 both Bobby Nunn and Leon Hughes were replaced by Cornell Gunter and Will (Dub) Jones. In 1956, They released their first hit ‘Down In Mexico’ which sold 500,000 copies and in 1957 and they topped the R&B charts and made the Top Ten with their double-sided single Searchin’ and ‘Young Blood.’

They had a series of hit singles filled with instantly adaptable slang and timeless humour. ‘Yakety Yak’ comically addressed the generation gap long before that term was coined, while ‘Charlie Brown’ was a character study of a class clown that featured Will ‘Dub’ Jones’ unforgettable line: ‘Why’s everybody always pickin’ on me?’ By the end of the decade, they’d carved out a legacy for themselves as purveyors of riotously funny rock and roll records with a solid R&B underpinning. For that reason they were labelled as the ‘Clown Prince’s of Rock ‘n’ Roll’. The Coasters became very popular in Britain, where the Beatles and the Rolling Stones among others had covered their songs. Ironically, it was the rise of the British Invasion that spelled commercial decline for such Fifties American icons as the Coasters.

Featured here are those wonderful 1950s sides and although there were a string of seven inch singles released in Britain only one EP came out, so we look to the French and Swedish EP releases that featured many of the songs from 1957 through to 1961. To maintain the EP theme of this collection we have included two or three songs, which featured on American EPs, from the late fifties.

Whenever you think of the Coasters you have to feel the tag line from one of their LP tracks ‘There’s A Riot Going On’ as on stage or on record they really were a ‘riot’ and one of the most amusing acts around. Great entertainers and musicians they proved to be one of the brightest spots in popular music of the second half of the 1950s

The Coasters were formed as a spin off from and original group called the Robins who in 1955 had recorded a few Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller songs, Atlantic Records were to offer Leiber And Stoller an independent production contract to produce the Robins for the Atlantic label. Their association with The now newly formed Coasters was an immediate
success and they created a string of good-humoured and some of the best hits from the original rock ‘n’ roll era.